Skip to content
Curtin University
Risk & Assurance

"Do Not Travel" Countries

Please note that the Countries listed below are considered by the University as DO NOT TRAVEL destinations regardless of their current DFAT (Smartraveller) rating.

Should you wish to travel to any of these Countries, you must make contact with Risk & Assurance to arrange the completion of a detailed Risk Assessment and Business Case, which must be authorised by the Head of School, Pro Vice Chancellor and the Provost/Vice Chancellor.

You may also be required to prepare a Fieldwork Risk Assessment addressing risks associated with the travel.

Curtin designated "Do Not Travel" destinations:
1. Nigeria
2. Pakistan
3. North Korea
4. Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk
5. Burkina Faso
6. Iran
7. Bangladesh

Smartraveller "Do Not Travel" destinations (as at February 2019):
(please check the Smartraveller website to verify this in case of change)
1. Afghanistan
2. Burundi
3. Central African Republic
4. Chad
5. Iraq
6. Libya
7. Mali
8. Niger
9. Somalia
10. South Sudan
11. Syria
12. Venezuela
14. Yemen